Stew Time!

On Monday, Ben and I FINALLY got rid of our Christmas tree.  As sad as I am to see it go, it certainly makes our apartment feel a lot bigger without it!

But the most exciting part was my first attempt at home-made stew!  Somehow, I am 25 years old, and I had never made stew from scratch.

Beef Stew adopted from The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook.  AKA my cooking bible

makes 4-6 servings

  • slightly more than one pound of stew meat (I just put the whole package in.  It’s not an exact science)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cups carrots, chopped
  • two stalks of celery, chopped
  • 4 small-to-medium potatoes, quartered
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped/minced
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • vegetable oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • basil
  • one can of 99 percent fat-free beef broth
  1. In a medium size stew pot (I used my new cherry red Le Cruset), add enough vegetable oil to clearly cover the bottom of the pan.  Bring the oil to a simmer.
  2. Brown all of the meat in the oil (if you need to add more oil as you work, that’s fine.  I just kept it so there was constantly oil covered the bottom of the pan).  Depending how wide your pan is, you may not be able to brown all of your meat at once, that’s fine as well.
  3. Remove all the meat once browned and put aside.  In the oil, add the garlic and onions and allow them to cook in the oil.  Cook until the onions are translucent – I think it took about 10 minutes for mine to cook.
  4. Add flour to mixture.
  5. Add the meat back into the pot, as well as the can of beef broth and 1/2 cup of water.  Add salt, pepper and basil per your liking.  (sorry, I didn’t measure).  Bring the mixture to a boil, then bring it down to a simmer.  Cover and cook for 2 1/2 hours.
  6. Taste broth, consider adding any more seasoning as necessary.
  7. Add potatoes, celery, carrots.  Bring mixture to a boil, then bring it back down to a “high simmer”.  Cover and let it cook for another 30 minutes.

ENJOY!  Sorry I was a bit of a failure and didn’t take any pictures, but trust me it was great.  And it was just as good the next day!  The stew was very hearty – if you prefer to have your stew last more than 4-6 servings or like more gravy in your stew, I would recommend adding two cans of beef brother and a cup of water.

 

I’m debating taking a bath right now while Benjamin watches the Duke game.  Last night at the gym, I was having such a great run that I decided it would be a wonderful idea to push my limits.  Lately, I’ve been sticking with 25-30 minute runs, which usually come out to be somewhere in the 2.5 mile range.  Last night, I pushed myself on distance (3.3 miles), time  (35 minutes), and speed (I actually had a 9:35 mile in there.  That’s fast for me).  Not so smart, and my legs are a bit tight now.  Considering I pushed all three, I guess I shouldn’t complain that I’m only a little sore.  Note to self: pushing all three limits is how people get hurt.  Chillax.  Although secretly I just want to go back to the gym and see if I can do it again!

2 thoughts on “Stew Time!

  1. One of my besties here in TX asked me to do a 5K with her…I considered it, since running something seems to be what all the cool kids are doing now, but then I thought “ya know, I really hate running.” So I told her I would wait at the end of the 5K with a sparkley sign cheering her on. And on that note, Anna, I’m glad you are doing enough running for me and you. Thanks for taking one for the team.

  2. The stew sounds yummy and that is one great cookbook. I like that there are pictures to show the way!
    Soaking in eptsom salt really helps the sore muscles. Now it comes in different scents too.- CVS.

Leave a comment