Friend Weekend Part 1

After a very long week that involved:

  • on the verge of being sick
  • lots going on at work
  • no running whatsoever
  • no real meals, except for Thursday night

I was very ready for the weekend. And I was very excited because my friend and bridesmaid Ange was in town!

Thursday night I came home from work and took a quick nap before making dinner – honey roasted carrots, steamed broccoli and basil pasta.  While honey roasted carrots may sound fancy, they were incredibly easy.  I sliced the carrots in half lengthwise (and in some cases quartered), tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper, and then drizzle them with honey.  Throw them in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes and poof!  honey roasted carrots.

Friday I worked late, ran to the grocery store, came home, cleaned the house (although my fabulous fiancé Ben had already cleaned most of it already), took a quick nap, and then Ange was here!  When she arrived I threw some baked brie in the oven and we chatted for a bit. We watched some movie Friday night, but I slept through it.

Saturday we woke up, hung out a bit and then headed down to Old Town Alexandria to explore.  I wish I had brought my camera because it was soo pretty!  We ate at a little Italian place on King street.  I got the Lobster Risotto, which was to die for.  Everything else was just so-so.  We then watched Shutter Island – which I thought was really good – and The Proposal – which was as much as you can expect from a Sandra Bullock rom-com.

Today, we dropped Ange off at the bus and explored downtown a bit.  We ran into this awesome froyo shop.  It had 16 different flavors and you could serve yourself.  They let you taste all the flavors, and then you create you treat – from the flavors to the amount to the toppings.  You then pay by weight.  I got red velvet ice cream (SO GOOD) with white chocolate chips, peanutbutter ice cream with crushed peanutbutter cups, and cookies and creme soft serve.  Then I put hot fudge over all of it.  Fantastic!

Now I’m taking a break from doing work by watching Meet the Morgans.  Back to work for me!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friend Weekend Part 1

  1. My boyfriend told me about a similar type froyo place when he was visiting Malibu. I wish we had places like that up here in New England! I would be sooo happy. P.S. – Those carrots sounds amazing!

    • The fro-yo place was definitely neat. I really liked being able to play with the toppings and control how much I wanted of each flavor/topping. I’m sure its only a matter of time before they begin to open up in New England? Where in New England are you from? I lived in Boston for a while.

Leave a Reply

