White Ale, New Sneakers – doesn’t take much to make me happy

What was the highlight of my weekend?  Besides our Valentine’s Day dinner, of course…

 

Samuel Adams White Ale

Samuel Adams White Ale Label[photo credit]

Pretty much anyone who knows me, knows that Sam Adams White Ale is my favorite beer.  It used to be Sam Adam’s spring seasonal.  In college, Jane and I used to stock up on like it was going out of style.  Well, then in January 2010, it did go out of style.  Sam Adams announced that they were replacing White Ale with Noble Pills as the spring seasonal.

Now, don’t get me wrong,  I like Noble Pills.  I really wanted to hate it for taking over my beloved White Ale.  But I couldn’t.  It was too good.

Sam Adams claims that it is available in November-December in a variety pack, but I’ve never been able to find it.  While in Harris Teeter over the weekend, I walked past the Sam Adams “American Classics” variety pack and something caught my eye.  Could it be??  Oh yes it was!  My beloved White Ale!  I grabbed the variety pack and ran across the grocery store, looked at Ben and said, “Is it ridiculous to buy a 12-pack for two beers?”  After assuring me that the other 10 beers would not go to waste, I happily dropped the variety pack into the cart.  Now, I’m going to have to ration those two beers….

 

New Running Gear

I got really lucky with my old running sneakers.  In late Fall 2009, Ben and I were starting to head back to the gym.  My previous workout sneakers were on their way out when I found a pair of Nike’s on clearance at DSW.  Not knowing much about the sneakers, except that they were cute, I bought them.  They were like $30, and I was just looking for something to use as a general gym/workout sneaker.

When I got into running, I heard the worst thing you can do is just grab whatever sneaker is on clearance and go with it.  Oops, that’s exactly what I had done.  I Googled my shoes and it turns out, they are fantastic running sneakers.  Like made for running sneakers.  Awesome.  I just went with it.

But now, my bargain bin sneakers are getting worn out.  My feet have started to hurt while running and I can feel the ground more than before.  I don’t know exactly how many miles I’ve put on them, but after a year and a half, I’m thinking they are getting worn out.

So on Sunday, Ben and I went out for a little running gear shopping spree.  I purchased these babies:

Acics GT2150 Raspberry[photo credit]

The Asics GT2150.  I got them in the raspberry/lightening (as seen above).  They are great for stability (which I need) and have a lot of cushion (which I like).  I was pretty sure I wanted Asics, but I went in with an open mind.  I tried on numerous pairs, and these seemed to fit pretty well.  I did have to go a full size larger than my normal shoes.  I haven’t run in them yet, but I’m very excited. Plus…they are pretty.  And they match my new long sleeve running shirt.

 

Yay for beer and running gear!

 

3 thoughts on “White Ale, New Sneakers – doesn’t take much to make me happy

  1. Yes, Sam Adams White Ale is my favorite too, and I was very upset when I found out that it was replaced as the new “Spring Seasonal” beer back in 2010 by Noble Pils.

    The White Ale WAS in the Samuel Adams “Winter Classics”, which featured 2 Boston Lager, 2 Old Fezziweg, 2 Holiday Porter, 2 Chocolate Bock, 2 Winter Lager, and 2 White Ale.

    The Samuel Adams “Winter Classics” pack comes out in November, and is usually only available to about January 15th, so thats probably why you can’t find it.

    The Samuel Adams “American Originals” pack is their new “Spring” variety pack, like the one they have in the summer ( Summer Styles ), fall ( Harvest Collection ), and winter ( Winter Classics ).

    I plan on buying 6 of the “American Originals” cases, so that I will have my very own 12 pack of the White Ale!!!!!

  2. Yes, Sam Adams White Ale is my favorite too, and I was very upset when I found out that it was replaced as the new ‘Spring Seasonal’ beer back in 2010 by Noble Pils.

    The White Ale WAS in the Samuel Adams ‘Winter Classics’ 12 pack collection, which featured 2 Boston Lager, 2 Old Fezziweg, 2 Holiday Porter, 2 Chocolate Bock, 2 Winter Lager, and 2 White Ale.

    The Samuel Adams ‘Winter Classics’ pack comes out in November, and is usually only available to about January 15th, so thats probably why you can’t find it.

    The Samuel Adams ‘American Originals’ 12 pack is their new ‘Spring’ variety pack, like the one they have in the summer ( Summer Styles ), fall ( Harvest Collection ), winter ( Winter Classics ), and special flavors ( Brewmasters Collection ).

    I plan on buying 6 of the ‘American Originals’ cases, so that I will have my very own 12 pack of the White Ale!!!!!

Leave a Reply

