#BeThankfulChallenge

A lot of my friends are taking part in the #BeThankfulChallenge – see examples one, two and three.

Well, props to them.  They are blogging every day(ish) about things they are thankful for.  I can tell you right now that I will not blog every day in November.  But that doesn’t mean I’m not thankful.  So I’ll do the daily #BeThankfulChallenge on Twitter.  And then once a week, if not more, I’ll give a recap here on the blog.

November 1 – I skipped the first.  Not so much skipped as I didn’t known about the challenge. If I were to go back in time, I’d pick my grandparents.  While none of them are with us anymore, they are amazing people.  Everytime I bake something and our kitchen fills with the warm smell of sweets, I like to think that my grandmother is looking down smiling.  And my passion in politics and community no doubt comes from my Nana and PopPop.

November 2 – Benjamin.  Every day I’m thankful for my loving husband.  He’s amazing.  He supports me in everything I do and pushes me to be the best I can be.  He values friends and family just like I do.  And when I’ve had a bad day, he makes me dinner or orders pizza.  He’s loving, spunky, passionate, and makes me smile every day.

November 3 – My mom.  She’s an amazing person and the rock of our family.  She’s always willing to do anything for family, even when its the last thing she wants to do.  She’s caring, compassionate and a great listener.  I’m so thankful for everything she’s done for me over the last 26 years.

November 4 – My dad.  (Have you caught on to a theme here?)  My father is one of the most hard-working, dedicated and compassionate people I know.  His work ethic and dedication to community is something that has definitely shaped the person I’ve become.  And, for better or worse, he made me the sarcastic, stubborn person I am today.

November 5 – My brother and sister.  These two really each deserve their own day, but I’m trying to keep family to a week.  These two have been great role models for me.  And because they were so much…wiser than me, they are always nice enough to share that wisdom with me.  I’m so thankful for everything they both have taught me and all the laughs we had growing up.

November 6 – My niece and nephew.  These two adorable redheads can do nothing but bring a smile to my face.  It’s amazing how many times I’ve said “it’s amazing how special ____ is until you see it through the eyes of a small child” during the past couple of years.  And the best part – when they get grumpy and start to scream and cry, I can give them back to my sister (love you Julie!!)

And I’ll give everyone a preview of tomorrow’s slection.

November 7 – Everyone else!  My family is too close to not include everyone here.  If you asked me to pick a favorite aunt/uncle, I wouldn’t be able to do it.  They are all special in their own way, and I’m extremely close to all of them.  I love being able to see them all when I’m home.  I’m lucky that most of us live so close and that seeing each other isn’t just reserved for holidays.  And the ones that don’t live close by, we see pretty often too.

What are you thankful for? Are you doing the #BeThankfulChallenge?

Leave a Reply

