#BeThankfulChallenge Week 2

This week I wasn’t great on getting everything on Twitter, but it was a really busy and hectic week.  But here is this week’s rundown of what I’m thankful for…

November 7 – Amtrak.  While the train isn’t always the best way to travel, it certainly has its benefits.  On Monday night, Ben and I were supposed to take the train home to New Jersey, but we ended up driving.  While hitting traffic at 11:00 at night, I definitely appreciated the train:  no traffic, you can plug in your laptop/iPhone or computer and multitask, or sleep.  Since I can’t drive Ben’s car (it’s stick), I don’t think its fair for me to sleep while he’s stuck behind the wheel.    While we didn’t take the train this time, I’m thankful that it’s an option for future trips.

November 8  – Freedom.  This was only appropriate for election day.  I’m thankful to live in a country that hold free and fair elections.  While I don’t always agree with the campaigning that happens (aka – dirty lies), I’m still thankful to live in a country that gives people an opportunity to choose our leaders.

November 9 – Coffee.  It’s dependable, tasty, and helps you feel like a human when you want to go back to sleep.  It comes in lots of flavors and can keep you warm on a cold day, or cool on a warm day.  And during this particularly crazy week, I lived off coffee. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Did you know that drinking coffee can reduce your risk of getting skin cancer?  There are a lot of other health benefits of coffee (My favorite stat in that article is that Coffee drinkers are about twice as likely as non-coffee drinkers not to develop the potentially deadly methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection in their nostrils.  How specific is THAT?!).

[photo credit]

November 10 – Fall.  While Fall is not my favorite holiday (I’m more of a summer girl), I do love it.  The trees look so beautiful with their changing colors.  I love being able to break out my scarf collection and coordinate outfits around one.  As a bonus, it’s great weather for running – not too hot and not too cold – and the season of my birthday!

[photo credit]

November 11 – At risk of sounding cliche, I’m thankful for veterans and those currently serving our country.  I’m thankful for everyone who has put country before self and protected America home and abroad.  These brave citizens deserve to be honored for their commitment.  So thank you.

November 12 – Running.  There are so many things I love about running.

  • Running gives me an opportunity to clear my head and de-stress.  Sometimes I just zone out, other times I use it to plan out my life.  When I actually get up and run in the morning, I spent those two miles planning out everything I need to do at and after work.
  • When I do really well on a run, it gives me a sense of pride and accomplishment like no other.  Maybe it’s because I was never a runner growing up.  But a runners high is like nothing else I can explain.
  • I also love that it can be an individual or group activity.  While you can run with people, you’re not competing with those people.  It’s about improving yourself.  And I love that Ben runs too.  Sometimes we head out together and stick together throughout the run.  Other days, we start off together and separate based on our running plan for the day.  And sometimes, I head on our my own.  Just me and the road.

November 13– Running buddies.  This is a bit of a rip-off of the last bullet from yesterday, but I do enjoy having running buddies, both near and far.  Today, it was great to have Ben and Christen by my side for the 10K.  We kept each other motivated and moving.  We stuck together (mostly) for the first half of the race before splitting up at paces comfortable to us.  But we all did our best (I’ll have a recap up soon) and it was a great experience.  But I’m also thankful for my running support system that isn’t local. Such as the “Pile on the Mile” challenge the Delta’s are doing.  While we can’t run together, it keeps us all motivated and makes us check in with each other to make sure we’re on track.  Plus, running 13.1 miles through Disney will be more fun with friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

