Birthday Weekend Recap

This was a fantastic weekend all around.  Although, per usual, I was terrible at getting photos.  Sorry.

Friday after work, Ben and I went over to Rustico for dinner.  It’s one of our favorite restaurants here in D.C., but I hadn’t been in forever.  We started with an order of sweet potato fries (amazing – they have a bit of a kick to them) and a beer flight.  Whenever we go, we let our waiter pick our first beer flight, and they have never steered us wrong.  Our first flight included: Hatachino Nest White Ale – a Belgium style beer from Japan – Southern Tier Imperial Oat,  Rogue Smoke Ale, and Hopback Amber Ale.  The waiter really did a good job, because these were four awesome beers.  Ben and I tried to create our second flight, but it was a major fail.  For dinner, we ordered their spinach pizza with caramelized onions and dessert was an apple pie sundae with cinnamon ice cream.  Once again, Rustico did not disappoint.

Saturday morning, we continued our favorite restaurant tour with brunch at Founding Farmers.  We started with an order of Beignets and I ordered Banana’s Foster Stuffed French Toast.  Very good, but very filling.

After brunch, Ben surprised me with a birthday mani/pedi.  He dropped me off at the salon and I was able to just sit back and relax.  I ended up going with a dark chocolate brown – Suzi says Da! – that I’m in love with.  It looks like it’s a couple seasons old, but I’d like to try and find a bottle of it for future use.  It could very easily become my new winter color.

Then, we headed over to Tortoise and Hare to meet up with Christen and Kevin who were in town for the Veteran Day 10K to watch the Penn State game.  After we all took a nap, they came back over to our apartment to carb up for the race – pasta and veggies to fuel us for the run.

All in all, it was a fantastic birthday weekend.  Ben went out of his way to make me feel special and really put thought into his gift.  I’m so lucky to have an awesome husband!!

 

Leave a Reply

