Veterans Day 10K Recap

On Sunday morning, Ben and I woke up very early to run the Veterans Day 10K in D.C.

You may remember that this was the run a bunch of us did last year and what started my running hobby.  This year, it was just Ben, Christen and me – and it was Ben’s first run.

I didn’t know what to expect from this year’s race.  I wanted to beat last year’s time, although I wasn’t entirely sure I would. Ben and I  talked about running together for the first half and then he would run ahead for the second while I did intervals of running/walking. I also I decided to set up A/B/C goals for myself.

GOAL A – 1 hour and 10 minutes

GOAL B – 1 hour and 15 minutes (aka, beating my time from last year)

GOAL C – 1 hour and 20 minutes (I needed something that I knew I could beat).

Race day started with a piece of toast with cinnamon peanut butter and half a cup of coffee.  Christen and Kevin picked us up and, luckily, we didn’t get lost this year.

Once race started, the three of us stayed together. About half a mile in, my ankle started to hurt.  I thought I was in for a long, painful run, but I just kept going and tried not to think about it.

Before I knew it, the pain in my ankle was gone and I was feeling great.  Then my Runkeeper chimed in “You’re current pace is 9:50.”  You’ve got to be kidding me.  9:50 shouldn’t feel this easy.  I chalked it up to faulty gps satellites and kept going.

As we approached the 5K mark, both Christen and Ben dropped off behind me.  I checked my time: 35 minutes.  Right then I knew that I was going to be able to do the 10K in 1 hour and 10 minutes.  I just had to keep my pace for the second half.  Since I didn’t really feel the need to walk, I decided to keep running until I felt like I needed a walking break.

My Runkeeper chimed in again: “You’re current pace is 9:50.”  I was shocked and I realized I could even beat the 1 hour and 10 minute goal.  I decided that walking was not an option and just kept running.  Mile four felt fantastic and I just picked people off one by one.  As I hit mile five, I started to slow down.  But walking was not an option.

Before I knew it, I was turning the corner back on to the home stretch.  The last .2 miles was tough, but I just kept thinking “run. run. run. run.” As I came into the last 10 yards, I sprinted with everything I had left.

Final Time: 1:06:42

PERSONAL RECORD!  I shaved 8 minutes off my time from last year and beat my A goal.  It felt amazing. It was great to see my training pay off.  I was so proud that I never stopped to walk and my average pace was fasted than I expected.

Splits ended up looking like this:

  • 10:43 – Mile 1
  • 10:49 – Mile 2
  • 10:42 – Mile 3
  • 10:21 – Mile 4
  • 10:19 – Mile 5
  • 10:28 – Mile 6
  • 9:52 (pace) – .2 miles

Its amazing that I felt like I was going so slow during mile 6, but it was actually faster than any of my first 3 miles.

I decided to walk back to the finish line to try and cheer on Ben and Christen.  But as I turned around, Ben was right behind me!  He finished in just over 1 hour and 7 minutes.  I was so proud of him.  He wasn’t sure what to expect from his first race, but he paced himself, gave his all, and did fantastic.

Overall, I was so so happy with the way the race went.  It felt amazing to crush  my goals.  Next up – a 15K in 3 weeks.

2 thoughts on “Veterans Day 10K Recap

  1. Usually, the particular Martingale system was suitable for even-money wagers, even so
    the premise is usually placed on almost anything.

    This also might become as extremely logical action
    to take, but there are still people who find themselves not aware sufficient!

Leave a Reply

