#BeThankfulChallenge Number 4

I’ve been bad about posting the #BeThankfulChallenge both on the blog and on Twitter.  Ooops.  Here we go.

November 19 – Old Friends.  This weekend (as in the weekend of the 19th), my friend Molly was in town from Boston.  I spent a good part of Saturday sitting on the couch with Molly and Allie, just chatting and hanging out.  After Allie went home, Ben, Molly and I went to dinner.  Post coming soon, but it was great to just hang out with old friends and laugh.

November 20 – Taxis.  I’m happy I live in a place that has taxis – and it’s safe to use them.  Sure, D.C. has wicked expensive cabs, they charge by the person, and they never know where they are going (hello, D.C. is on a grid system), but they are just so darn convenient.  Whether its just been a long day and you can’t stand to wait for the post-rush-hour metro, the metro is broken, or you’re going out and no one wants to be DD, cabs are there for you.

November 21 – Indian Summers.  Despite living in Boston for four years, I actually hate the cold.  I’d much rather be in a warm location.  So I’m loving this fall.  I love this weather where you could be completely comfortable either with or without a coat.  And it is perfect running weather.  Speaking of running, I should be doing more of that.

November 22 – My apartment.  Sure, the “American Dream” is to own a home.  And I’m sure one day, Ben and I will own our own home.  But for the meantime, I love our apartment.  Its not too big (aka – it doesn’t take a whole lot of time to clean), but its big enough to hold all our stuff.  It’s got an awesome view (what girl wouldn’t love a view of Nordstroms).  When something breaks, we just call the front desk (and it doesn’t cost us anything).  We each have our own walk-in-closets.  Its quite perfect for this stage in our life, if you ask me!

November 23 – Photos.  I LOVE photos.  I could look through old photos for hours without getting bored.  They bring back such happy memories.  During most of my life, I’ve always been the one with the camera snapping away a ton of photos.  But I’ve been TERRIBLE at taking photos the past year or so.  I hope to get back into this habit, because I love having photos to look back on!

November 24 – Family.  I know I dedicated the first week to my family, but it would be terrible if I didn’t remember them again.  I love coming from a close knit family.  Growing up, my family lived a stones throw away.  Literally.  My grandparents lived next door.  But now that all the kids are grown up, I’m glad that we all make an effort to come together during the holidays.

November 25 – Sales.  Oh Black Friday.  My closet thanks you.  Well, maybe it’s my wallet that thanks you.  This year’s successes include new black pants for work, Jackie cardigans from J. Crew, and a navy wrap dress.

November 26 – My iPhone.  I love my iPhone.  I held out for way to long.  It let’s me have just about everything at the touch of my fingertips.  Emails, music, the Internet – it’s all there.  Hands down better than my old BlackBerry.

November 27 – Helpful people.  Today’s thank you goes out to the nice lady at the Amtrak ticket counter in Philly.  This morning, at entirely to early of a time, Ben and I boarded the train in A.C. for Philly.  Upon arriving in Philly, I realized I handed the conductor the wrong ticket!  Ben and I went up to the ticketing desk, and the nice woman was able to hand write me a new ticket.  I was so embarrassed.  I couldn’t believe I handed in the wrong ticket.  And I can’t believe the conductor didn’t notice!  I was just happy that I didn’t need to purchase a new ticket.  So thank you, Amtrak woman.  Thank you.

November 28 – Christmas music.  Nothing puts me in a good mood quite like Christmas music.  I would listen to it all year if it wasn’t frowned upon.  Now that Thanksgiving is behind us, I’m thankful that I can blast my Christmas music judgement free.

November 29 – My apartment’s front desk staff.  They are all very friendly and helpful, even when the fire alarm is going off at 3 in the morning.  They email you when you have a package and have let me into my apartment more times than I care to admit.

Well…and one for tomorrow, since I’m so close…

November 30 – I can’t believe its taken this far to get here, but I dedicate November 30 to my friends.  To those people, near and far, who have been with me through thick and thin.  Whether we talk daily, weekly, monthly, or once-in-a-blue-moon-because-sometimes-life-gets-in-the-way, know that you all mean so much to me.  I’m thankful for the talents you all share and the laughs we’ve had over the years.  I’m thankful for the days we sat around and did nothing, and the nights that lead to great stories in the morning.  And to those of you that actually read this thing, THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

