A review of 2011

2011 was a pretty good year. Some would call it life-changing.

 

Wedding

Obviously, the biggest thing to happen to me in 2011 was the wedding.  Which I realize now I never did a proper recap of (although I know I started one).  In April, I married my best friend and thew a big old party with our family and friends.  Ben surprised with me a fantastic honeymoon in the DR (again…apparently there was no recap…ooops).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

in lieu of a recap post, please enjoy this slideshow of photos

Running

2011 was a year of running improvements.  Although, considering I didn’t start until the end of 2010, I had lots of room to improve.  I was supposed to run three races this year, but only ended up doing the Veterans Day 10k (recap).  But I really got into a running flow this year.  And hopefully this will all help me out for the Disney Princess Half in 53 days.

 

Cooking/Baking

One of my 2011 goals was to cook more and bring my lunch more.  While this was a bit of a rollercoaster, I think 2011 was definitely better than 2010.  One thing I could improve is to actually follow recipes or write things down as I go so that way I can share my creations.  For example, this is the best I can do for the chicken pot pie I made the other night.

  1. cube 4 pieces of chicken breasts and put it into a cast-iron pan that can be used on the stove top or in the oven (I used my Le Creuset heart dish).  Add three handfuls of cubed sweet potatoes and enough chicken stock to cover all the ingredients.
  2. After about 5-10 minutes, add veggies and more chicken stock so that everything is still covered.  I used a Birds Eye mixture of corn, carrots and asparagus.
  3. Add salt, pepper, Mrs. Dash, poultry seasoning until it “smells right.”  Put the lid on the pot and let everything simmer until the chicken is cooked.
  4. Add flour about half of cup at a time, mixing after each, until the consistence “looks right”
  5. Add low-fat milk until the color looks correct.  If necessary, add more flour for consistency.
  6. Roll out sheet of puff pastry and put it on top of the pot.  Make four slices to allow steam to escape.  Bake until puff pastry is golden brown and cooked thoroughly.

See, not exactly a science.  Too many “until its right” directions.

 

In all, 2011 was really good.  Here’s to 2012!

One thought on “A review of 2011

  1. I’ve learn several just right stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you place to create one of these excellent informative site.

Leave a Reply

