Dodging Diabetes

Ever since the Princess Half, which I know I haven’t blogged about (if you really want to know why, ask me.  its not a big deal), I’ve been in a bit of a fitness rut.  What next?  I don’t have another race planned.  I’m out of town for the Rock n Roll USA Half this weekend, and the Cherry Blossom 10 miler is the day we return from Puerto Rico. That just sounds like poor planning, if you ask me.

Do I take on the challenge of weights? Crossfit? Keep running?  Without a goal, I feel like I’m floating in workout no where.

I realized one thing this weekend: running is not a comprehensive workout.  Sunday Ben and I headed up to Rockville, Maryland, for Dodging Diabetes.

Dodging Diabetes, founded in 2005 by Anna Tiedeman Irwin (a former coworker) and Elizabeth Kramer, raises money for diabetes research and awareness. Both Anna and Elizabeth have brothers who live with Type 1 diabetes. Through annual dodgeball tournaments, Dodging Diabetes raises money to support the Joslin Diabetes Center and JDRF.

My officer sponsors a team every year for Dodging Diabetes.  I wasn’t able to participate last year or in 2010 (both years I was down in Charleston prepping for the wedding), so I was excited to be back this year.

The first half of the day consists of a 6-game round robin tournament, in which we were 4-2.  The round robin scores are tallied and two brackets are created: The Vegas League and Average Joes.  Our team lost in the first round of the Average Joes bracket, but we still had a good time.

But it wasn’t until the next day, when I was sore, that I realized how little muscle I have outside of my running legs.

So moral of the story, Dodging Diabetes = good times, sore muscles.

Leave a Reply

